Yesterday, we spent a pleasant few hours in South Queensferry, an interesting and picturesque coastal town which sits at one end of the majestic Forth Railway Bridge and Forth Road Bridge. The Railway Bridge is one of the most recognisable sights in Scotland and is even more stunning viewed from the ground beneath it. One of the world's first major steel bridges, it was finally completed in 1890 after six years of incredible Victorian engineering skills, £3 million, and some loss of life. It is Scotland's largest listed building. Spanning the Forth, the birdge provide a much needed rail link across the river, and the Forth Road Bridge, opened in 1964, stands as a parallel road link.
Until about 1812, the natural jetty formed by these rocks was a regular landing place for the Queen’s Ferry, so named since Margaret, second wife of Malcolm Canmore King of Scots from 1058 to 1093, endowed ships for the free passage of pilgrims and the poor and hostels for them on either shore. It may be assumed that she used the ferry herself when going between Dunfermline and Edinburgh Castle.
Tucked beneath the bridge stands the famous Hawes Inn, which dates from 1683. A village pub for the fishing and ferry community, it has strong links with Robert Louis Steveson and Sir Walter Scott - and it still serves a tasty lunch in wonderful wood panelled surroundings.
The town has many interesting and historic buildings, making it an ideal day out to explore the past.